Sunday, January 31, 2010

Kathryn Bigelow Wins Top DGA Award

Kathryn Bigelow added another huge victory on her road to the Oscars on Saturday night, becoming the first woman to ever win the Directors Guild of America award for feature film.
Bigelow’s film “The Hurt Locker,” which has dominated the awards picture despite the enormous commercial success of her ex-husband James Cameron’s “Avatar,” was chosen out of a field that included “Avatar,” Jason Reitman’s “Up in the Air,” Quentin Tarantino’s “Inglourious Basterds” and Lee Daniels’ “Precious.”
Bigelow and Cameron were widely considered the frontrunners for the award, which has gone to the eventual winner of the Academy Award for Best Director all but six times since the DGA began handing out honors in the 1940s.
The DGA gave out one other award in feature films, for documentary. It went to Louie Psihoyos, director of "The Cove." Other nominees included Sacha Gervais for "Anvil! The Story of Anvil," Robert Kenner for "Food, Inc." and Agnes Varda for "The Beaches of Agnes."
Jason Weiner and Lesli Linka Glatter, the directors of "Modern Family" and "Mad Men," were honored for comedy and dramatic television series, respectively, while Ross Katz won the television/miniseries award for "Taking Chance."
Carl Reiner hosted the non-televised show for the 22nd time.

The winners:
Feature Film: Kathryn Bigelow, "The Hurt Locker"
Documentary Film: Louie Psihoyos, "The Cove"
Dramatic Series NIght: Lesli Linka Glatter, "Mad Men"
Comedy Series: Jason Winer, "Modern Family"
Movie for Television: Ross Katz, "Taking Chance"
Musical Variety: Don Mischer, "We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial"
Reality Program: Craig Borders, "Build It Bigger"
Children's Program: Allison Liddi-Brown, "Princess Protection Program"
Daytime Serial: Christopher Goutman, "As the World Turns"
Commercial: Tom Kuntz, "Eyebrows," "Tailor," "Scents for Gents," "Tips"
Special awards:
Lifetime achievement award: Norman Jewison
Honorary Life Membership: Robert Iger
Honorary Life Membership: Barry Meyer
Life Achievement in News: Roger Goodman
Frank Capra Award: Cleve Landsberg
Franklin Schaffner Award: Maria Jiminez Henley